top of page



St. Tammany Parish (French: Paroisse de Saint-Tammany) is a parish located in the U.S. state of Louisiana named after Tamanend, a Principal Lanepe Chief considered the "Patron Saint of America. Althougha." Although not a saint of the Roman Catholic Church, George Washington held him in higher esteem than Roman Catholic Saints, even qualifying him as divine and possessing moral perfection. As of the 2010 census, the population was 233,740,[7] making it the fifth-most populous parish in Louisiana. The parish seat is Covington.[8] The parish was founded in 1810


Tangipahoa Parish ( /ˌtændʒɪpəˈhoʊə/French: Paroisse de Tangipahoa) is a parish located in the southeast of the U.S. state of Louisiana. As of the 2010 census, the population was 121,097. The parish seat is Amite City, while the largest city is HammondSoutheastern Louisiana University is located in Hammond. Lake Pontchartrain borders the southeast side of the parish.


Washington Parish (French: Paroisse de Washington) is a parish located in the interior southeast corner of the U.S. state of Louisiana, one of the Florida Parishes. As of the 2010 census, the population was 47,168. The parish seat is Franklinton. Its largest city is Bogalusa. The parish was founded in 1819.


The New Orleans metropolitan area, designated the New Orleans–Metairie metropolitan statistical area by the U.S. Office of Management and Budget,[5] or simply Greater New Orleans, is a metropolitan statistical area and state region designated by the United States Census Bureau encompassing eight pari-shes (the statewide equivalent of other U.S. statescounties) in the state of Louisiana, centering on the city of New Orleans. The population of Greater New Orleans was 1,270,530 in 2019,[6][7] up from 1,189,166 at the 2010 United States census. According to 2017 census estimates, the broader New Orleans–Metairie–Hammond combined statistical area (CSA) had a population of 1,510,562.

bottom of page